%>

(Com)passionate person with a heart for impactful work

Location

Remote Opportunities
Remote-friendly

Rate

Rate negotiable

Posted 22 days ago

About this Service

If you/your organization/company are in need of an extra hand - I can be that hand!

Although I specialize in a few things, I'd love to offer curriculum development and consulting, creative assistance, administrative assistance, data entry, research, or really any other remote work that you may need help with for your organization or business! I would particularly love to use my skillset to do work that is striving to help others - my main areas of interest are mental health/trauma support, animal rescue/rehabilitation, and immigrant/refugee support, though I'd really just like to be contributing to something bigger than myself.

I can also provide tutoring help to your kiddos - I specialize in English/writing for all ages, but could cover math/science/social studies for kids in elementary school.

About this Lister

I'm Marina from Brooklyn, NY, and I'm currently a part-time educational consultant for a non-profit organization in India, and a contracted Executive Assistant for a company providing renewable energy to off-grid villages in Tanzania and Nigeria, but I live between Mexico and New York. But I've had a full life that has led me to this point!

I was a professional performer starting at the age of 11, and all through my teens I was performing in Broadway shows. Dancing has always been my passion, and is what led me to be able to work in a theater-based setting. However, toward my later teen years I realized I didn't want to perform so much as use the arts to help others - in the way that it had helped me so much. I started volunteering and working for various non-profit arts organizations, and after spending a few years in college studying Arts Activism, I left the states (never having obtained my degree) and started volunteering to teach academics and dance for a school in India.

I had only planned to be there for 2 months, but my heart was tied to my students, and I stayed for 10 months. I started doing administrative work for this school part-time while living back in Brooklyn, and while in Brooklyn I worked at a summer camp for refugee youth, and later began tutoring the same on the weekends.

I was then offered a full-time English Fellow position at this school in India, where I taught English Language and Literature to middle school and high school students, as well as to some aunties on campus who had never had any formal English classes - all is to say I have experience with a multitude of levels!

The pandemic brought me back to the states and pushed me online, but I continue to work for the school as an educational consultant - developing and teaching both academic and emotional/social skill based curricula. On top of this role, I fill in with administrative assistance and data entry, as well as many other odd jobs when our team needs more hands on deck. 4 months ago I also started working as a contractor for a company that brings solar-powered energy options to people in rural areas of Tanzania and Nigeria. I'm an Executive Assistant for this company, but my work with them has not been limited to that. I have also structured communication plans, built Learning and Development curricula, and am currently working on building out a talent management structure. My contract is coming to a end and I'm eagerly looking forward to the next way I can make an impact in this world.

I've been living in Mexico the last two years, and spent a portion of my time touring around teaching an emotional release through movement/aerial dance workshop with my ex-partner. Due to this, I do have an intermediate level of Spanish speaking now.

During the pandemic, I decided to (finally!) finish my degree - so I have returned to school to get my degree in Psychology, as my ultimate goal is to be able to create an organization myself that offers a holistic approach to mental health help - through the arts, community engagement, animals, nature, somatic work, and clinical help if needed.

So, in the meantime, I'm looking for ways to sustain myself while pursuing my dreams - and ideally I could learn from others doing the same!

Background and Expertise

I have 17 years of experience working with children, 12 years of experience as a dance teacher/choreographer, 12 years of working in the non-profit sector, 8 years of administrative assistance work, and 8 years of academic teaching/curriculum development work.

I am proficient in Word, Excel/Sheets, GSuite, and Asana, and I am an incredibly fast learner.

I would be happy to send my resume if requested, or happy to answer any questions/concerns that you may have.

Contact

Name Name Hidden
Email hidden-email@example.com
Join Listings Project for free or sign in to contact this lister.

See More Services

Looking for something you can't find?

Post a job and gigs listing and ask our community for what you need